Dinner: Chicken (Crock) Pot (Crustless) Pie

I got a huge pack of chicken for a great price. I tore the package open, dumped it unceremoniously into a crock pot, added a couple inches of chicken stock, and set it to cook on low all day long.

Image

This action was Lazeo (“lazy-o”) foresight at its best.

1) Crock pots are very easy to use.
2) Crock pots are very easy to clean.
3) I can cook everything at once. Less than a minute of prep time, and I have cooked chicken to last me for days!
4) Crock pots are foolproof. Tender, juicy, perfect chicken. No burning. No drying. Just perfection. Perfect like this blog.
5) The chicken I bought was so cheap-o because it came with bones and skin and all such grisly things. In a crock pot, all of that just falls away. It’s so easy.

So, this evening, I let my daughter occupy herself with the leftover spaghetti that is not Whole30-approved,

Image

got out some tongs, and gently lifted some of my perfect chicken out of the crock pot and into my dinner bowl. Then I ladled three scoops of the chicken stock into my bowl — enough to make it “saucy” without turning it into soup.

Then I rifled through the freezer, pausing a few times to cower as things collapsed all over me. I found some veggies that matched my hankering for some chicken pot pie:

Image

and, not having quite enough of that perfect foresight to put the veggies right in the crock pot with the chicken, I steamed the whole bag:

Image

then poured it into my bowl and stirred it around. Voila!

Image

VERY tasty, VERY easy, SUPER satisfying.

Chicken (Crock) Pot (Crustless) Pie

Chicken, cooked in crock pot (as much as you can fit, leftovers are a plus for Lazeo Paleo)
Chicken stock or broth — enough to cover the bottom of the crock pot about two inches deep
16 oz. Paleo-friendly vegetable blend (no legumes allowed)

Place all your chicken into the crock pot. Add the chicken broth, and set to cook on low for six hours.

When you are almost ready to eat, start steaming the vegetable blend.

When the chicken is finished cooking and you are ready to eat, use tongs to take chicken shreds from the crock pot directly into your bowl. Ladle enough of the chicken stock into your bowl to cover the bottom of the bowl about 1/2 inch deep.

Stir in your steamed vegetables.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Dinner: Chicken (Crock) Pot (Crustless) Pie

  1. Pingback: Egg Drop Soup with Spinach | Lazeo Paleo

Leave a Reply

